"AisleWizard is supported by its readers. Please assume all links are affiliate links. If you purchase something from one of our links we make a small commission from Amazon."

Are Trader Joe’s Hash Browns Kosher? (Explained)

Are Trader Joe's Hash Browns Kosher

Trader Joe’s is an American grocery store chain located in forty two states. At this grocery store, there are kosher products. 

The hash browns at Trader Joe’s are kosher. Along with that, Trader Joe’s also sells many kosher products such as kosher salt. The ingredients in the Trader Joe’s hash browns are all kosher. Trader Joe’s has countless kosher products you can find on their website, and you can also find it in their stores.

The rest of this article will cover what kosher food is, ingredients in Trader Joe’s hash browns, Trader Joe’s policies on kosher food, how to determine if a product is kosher, alternatives to Trader Joe’s hash browns for kosher diets, and frequently asked questions.

What Is Kosher Food

Kosher food refers to any food that is in the Jewish dietary laws. A kosher food is a meal that is acceptable to eat for those following a Jewish diet. A common misconception is that it is a cooking style, but it isn’t. 

What makes kosher food different from your average product is the way it was made. Kosher laws are strict about how a food can be prepared. One of the big laws is the type of meat a person on a kosher diet can have. 

For example, kosher meat comes from animals that have split hooves and chew on their cuds. These animals include, but are not limited to, cows and sheep. Pigs are an example of an animal those on a kosher diet can’t eat.

By extension, all dairy products those on a kosher diet can consume must come from a kosher animal. There are countless laws covering what someone on a kosher diet can and can’t eat, but the biggest two are for meats and dairy.

Ingredients In Trader Joe’s Hash Browns

Trader Joe’s hash browns are very simple. Hash browns are made from potatoes, but Trader Joe’s potatoes are specifically grown in Idaho. Idaho is known for their potatoes. The Trader Joe’s hash brown potatoes are already cooked.

When you buy the Trader Joe’s hash browns, all you have to do is take it out of the packaging and heat them up. The best way to heat them up is by putting them in a skillet or by baking them in an oven.

Other than potatoes, Trader Joe’s hash browns have salt, citric acid to maintain color, vegetable oil, and dextrose (corn). There are ten hash browns per pack, and a serving size is one patty. For each patty, there are 120 calories. 

Trader Joe’s Policies On Kosher Food

Just like every other food, kosher food can be returned opened or unopened, with or without a receipt. However, you will receive a better refund if you have a receipt. There are no specific policies regarding the kosher food. 

How to Determine if a Product Is Kosher

Many products have labels pointing out that a product is kosher. At Trader Joe’s, their kosher products are labeled. Typically this label is yellow and on the front of the packaging. However, if you aren’t sure, you should ask the employees.

There is also the Trader Joe’s website. If you’re ever unsure about a product and an employee isn’t around, quickly Google the Trader Joe’s website. From there, type in the product you’re holding and look at what the website says.

On the website, it will tell you all the ingredients and how to prepare the product. This website will tell you if the product is kosher or not.

To avoid having to look for it in real time, go on the website in advance and search for the products you’ll need. Make a list of the exact name of the items you’re looking for, then you’re ready for your trip to Trader Joe’s.

Alternatives to Trader Joe’s Hash Browns For Kosher Diets

If you’re looking for alternatives, you can go for a classic: chips. Lay’s classic potato chips are certified kosher. Along with that, there are Lay’s lightly salted potato chips, wavy potato chips, and kettle cooked potato chips.

If you’re looking for something with more flavor, you can go with a classic: kugel. Kugel is a perfect choice, especially on a holiday like Thanksgiving.

Frequently Asked Questions

With kosher having so many different rules and products, it can be difficult to know which product is for you. Here are a few questions and answers regarding kosher products.

Is Trader Joe’s Kosher Food

Not all Trader Joe’s food is kosher food. However, they do have kosher products. They are known for having a wide variety of food for all types of diets. Kosher is included in that list, and they have countless kosher products you can find.

On their website, you can find all their products. From there, you can search “kosher” in the search bar and find almost three hundred items that are kosher. They have a massive kosher section you can look through both in-person and online.

Is Trader Joe’s Gelatin Kosher

Trader Joe’s has both kosher and non-kosher gelatin products. In general, most gelatin products aren’t kosher thanks to how they’re made.

However, Trader Joe’s has gluten-free, kosher gelatin you can buy from their gluten-free or kosher sections.

Just like the other Trader Joe’s products, the gelatin will be marked as kosher and gluten-free. If you do not see the label, do not buy it. Look for one with the label. If you are unsure, ask an employee about the product.

Does Trader Joe’s Have Kosher Meat

Yes, Trader Joe’s has kosher meat. Trader Joe’s is very kosher-friendly thanks to the variety of kosher products they sell.

For example, they have kosher salt. As for meat, Trader Joe’s has kosher angus ground beef. It is labeled as kosher.

Trader Joe’s has one of the best kosher meat sections. You can find a wide variety of kosher meat present like the angus ground beef, but also ribeye’s. Trader Joe’s has one of the largest kosher meat sections out of the main chain grocery stores.

Are Trader Joe’s Latkes For Passover

Trader Joe’s carries potato pancake mix for Passover. With this mix, you can make latkes suitable for Passover.

They work best as a side dish. Since potatoes are not a grain, they do not fall under the chametz category and therefore can be made during Passover.


Shane is a fitness enthusiast who also has a passion for trying and cooking new foods. His favorite stores to shop at include Trader Joe's, Wholefoods Market, Sprouts, Stater Brothers, and Target.

Recent Posts