"AisleWizard is supported by its readers. Please assume all links are affiliate links. If you purchase something from one of our links we make a small commission from Amazon."

Are Trader Joes English Muffins Vegan? (Answered)

Are Trader Joes English Muffins Vegan

Since 1967, Trader Joe’s has been providing quality goods at discount prices, and with such a long history they’ve developed quite a varied line of products. With that in mind, are Trader Joe’s English muffins vegan?

While Trader Joes carries a number of vegan products, their gluten-free English muffins do not count as vegan, but their classic English muffins DO. The gluten-free variety have dried egg whites as part of their ingredients, but this is not present in Trader Joe’s classic English muffins – they are definitely vegan!

Today we’ll explore the problem in more detail, going into veganism rules, ingredients of Trader’s Joes muffins, and also some alternatives that you can try which are guaranteed to be vegan. Let’s talk about Trader Joe’s muffins and what you need to know!

Understanding of Veganism

Veganism is similar to vegetarianism, with the exception that the person practicing the diet will eat nothing that is derived from animals.

That means milk, eggs, and even some ingredients which are derived from animals, such as certain gelatins (derived from hooves).

Simply put, vegans only eat vegetables,  nuts, fruits, and grains – anything derived from an animal is strictly off the menu!

Overview of Trader Joe’s English Muffins

Trader Joe’s gluten-free English muffins have been well-received by both vegans and non-vegans alike. While the gluten-free English muffins contain egg, the ‘classic’ variety of Trader Joe’s English muffins is 100% vegan – no animal products or byproducts involved.

These muffins are popular enough that you’ll almost always find them stocked on the shelf and they are perfect for toasting up to go with your favorite jam, breakfast sandwiches, and more.

If you like English muffins and want to make sure that you are getting a vegan product, then Trader Joe’s classic English muffins definitely deliver!

Ingredients in Trader Joe’s English Muffins

In order to show you firsthand that these muffins are safe for consumption, let’s take a look at the ingredients. Here is what is listed for Trader Joe’s Classic English muffins:

  • Unbleached enriched flour
  • Niacin
  • Reduced iron
  • Thiamine mononitrate
  • Riboflavin
  • Water
  • Yeast
  • Sugar
  • Vital wheat gluten
  • Pressed corn oil
  • Cultured wheat flour
  • Sea salt
  • Distilled vinegar
  • Cornmeal
  • Enzymes

As you can see, the list of ingredients falls squarely into the vegan category, as we have no animal byproducts and no dairy listed. All of these ingredients basically boil down to vegetable oils and grains, making these muffins fully compliant with a healthy vegan diet.

Keep in mind that these are the ‘classic English muffins’ – not the gluten-free variety that Trader Joe’s also carries.

This is an important distinction, as the gluten-free muffins that Trader Joe’s carried contain dried egg whites and are thus unsuitable for vegan consumption.

Keep an eye out for the gluten-free variety so that you can avoid them, as it’s easy to make a mistake and take the wrong brand home!

Comparison with Other Brands

While Trader Joe’s classis English muffins are vegan, in this section we thought we’d tell you a little more about some alternatives just in case your favorite muffins are not in stock.

Some other brands of English muffins that are vegan include the following:

  • Weight Watcher’s English muffins
  • Rudi’s organic bakery English muffins
  • Tip Tops original English muffins
  • Quality Bakers muffin splits

From an analysis of their ingredients, we can confirm that just like Trader Joe’s classic English muffins, these brands do not contain animal products such as eggs or any animal-derived ingredients in their makeup, making them 100% vegan and safe for vegan consumption.

With Trader Joe’s brands, just make sure that you do not pick up their gluten-free English muffins, as these are definitely an exception. When in doubt, always check your ingredients directly or by means of your favorite nutrition app just to be sure.

English muffins often contain dried egg whites and you want to make sure that you are on the lookout for this. Otherwise, it is quite easy to accidentally bring home a brand that is definitely not considered vegan.

Frequently Asked Questions

What English Muffins Are Vegan?

Trader Joe’s classic English muffins are considered vegan, and some other brands that you can look for are Food for Life English muffins, Dave’s Killer bread English muffins, and Rudi’s bakery English muffins, just to name a few.

Watch for labelling that indicates that they are 100% vegan, however, as English muffins often contain dairy or eggs as part of their ingredients and so you’ll need to be careful.

Are All English Muffins Vegan?

No, all English muffins are definitely not vegan. Most English muffin recipes use milk and many also utilize dried eggs are part of their ingredients, making those muffins unsuitable for vegan consumption.

That said, due to high demand, there are a number of 100% vegan brands available to you both locally and online.

Just check the labelling carefully so that you can be sure!

Are Walmart English Muffins Vegan?

Walmart carries an English muffin brand called Great Value Original Fork split English muffins and these are definitely NOT considered vegan.

As such, you should check around as Walmart carries a number of brands of English muffins and they should be labelled as ‘vegan’ so that you know they are 100% compliant with your dietary requirements.

Final Thoughts

Today we’ve reviewed Trader Joe’s English muffin offerings to determine if they are vegan. Our analysis found that while Trader Joe’s gluten-free English muffins contain eggs, their ‘classic English muffins’ are 100% vegan and safe for vegan consumption.

If you are unable to find them on the shelf, then be sure to check for alternatives that we have listed, such as TipTop and Weight Watcher’s English muffins, or simply check with the staff in the baking goods area.

Sometimes there is fresh stock that has not yet been put out, so your muffins might well still be in-house and available. Now that you know which English muffins from Trader Joe’s are definitely vegan, you can enjoy your breakfast with confidence. It’s nice to know that when it comes to the vegan diet, Trader Joes has got you covered!


Shane is a fitness enthusiast who also has a passion for trying and cooking new foods. His favorite stores to shop at include Trader Joe's, Wholefoods Market, Sprouts, Stater Brothers, and Target.

Recent Posts