"AisleWizard is supported by its readers. Please assume all links are affiliate links. If you purchase something from one of our links we make a small commission from Amazon."

Are Trader Joe’s Crumpets Vegan? (Answered)

are trader joes crumpets vegan

If you’re planning to hit up Trader Joe’s and have a craving for crumpets, it’s important to know if the popular grocery chain has crumpets that fit a vegan lifestyle. We know that manufacturers can slip sneaky ingredients into packaged foods, so it’s best to check the label before you try or buy to ensure that any crumpets brand fits your dietary needs.

We’re happy to report that Trader Joe’s British crumpets are currently vegan. This makes them a great vegan sweet or savory dinner choice. Keep in mind that crumpet brands may be processed in the same facility as other foods that carry non-vegan ingredients.

Check out Trader Joe’s crumpets, their suitability for vegans, and how Trader Joe’s crumpets compare to other brands.

What is Trader Joe’s?

Since the first Trader Joe’s opened in Pasadena, California, in 1967, the company has added many vegan products to its chain of over 500 locations across 42 U.S. states.

Trader Joe’s local neighborhood stores not only have a faint hippie vibe, but they also carry many unique and private-label food items and products from around the world that are hard to find elsewhere.

Are Trader Joe’s Crumpets Suitable for Vegans?

According to savvy and vegan-conscious shoppers, Trader Joe’s often carries both Kingsmill Toaster Crumpets, which are labeled as suitable for both vegans and vegetarians on Kingsmill’s website, and British Style Crumpets which are also vegan.

While you might not see a vegan-specific label, the ingredients in Kingsmill and British Style Crumpets are all naturally vegan.

Understanding Veganism

According to The Vegan Society, a recognized educational charity founded in 1944, veganism is both a philosophy and lifestyle. On an ethical level, veganism works to remove all forms of animal cruelty and exploitation.  

On a practical level, vegans do not use animals or their byproducts for food, clothing, beauty products, or any other purpose.

Veganism promotes animal-free and cruelty-free alternatives whenever practical and possible because it benefits animals, humans, and the global environment.

As a result, a vegan diet is focused on plant-based eating and abstains from all animal products such as meat, shellfish, insects, eggs, dairy, and honey, or any materials or products derived from or tested on animals.

What Does It Mean to Be a Vegan?

Being a vegan means committing to a plant-based diet that excludes any animal protein, processed meat, cheese, milk, ice cream, butter, eggs, fish, turkey, chicken, bacon, pork, lamb, or any kind of fish.

Most vegans are motivated by ethical and environmental concerns.

What Foods Can You Eat or Not Eat on a Vegan Diet?

If you are on a vegan diet, you will need to avoid direct animal products or ingredients that come from animals. These broad categories include red meat, fish, poultry, eggs, and dairy.

A vegan diet also eliminates animal byproducts, products created by animals such as honey, and common ingredients such as palm oil that harm animal habitats.

What Are Trader Joe’s Crumpets?

Trader Joe’s crumpets are made in the traditional British style. This means that they are shaped like an English muffin but have the texture and shape of a soft pancake filled with spongy little holes.

Each crumpet has 100 calories. Because they are a neutral medium, Trader Joe’s British Style Crumpets go well with either sweet or savory toppings.

Spread melted butter and jam to enjoy a delicious treat or add an egg and cheese to make a breakfast sandwich. You might also spot Trader Joe’s cinnamon crumpets on occasion if they are in stock.

These light and spongy little discs not only are a great replica of favorite UK crumpets, but they also make a nice breakfast treat and change from plain old toast or bagels.

Trader Joe’s Crumpets Ingredients

Here’s a complete ingredients list for Trader Joe’s British Style Crumpets:

  • Spring water
  • Enriched flour (made from wheat flour, malted barley flour, Niacin, reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid)
  • Baking powder (made from sodium acid pyrophosphate, cornstarch (non-GMO), and monocalcium phosphate).
  • Baking soda

Are Trader Joe’s Crumpets Popular?

According to consumers, many people get excited when Trader Joe’s crumpets come back into stock.

Whether it’s the British Style Crumpets, Kingsmill Toaster Crumpets or elusive Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Crumpets, the popularity of Trader Joe’s crumpets keeps enthusiasts coming back for more.

Are Trader Joe’s Crumpets’ Ingredients Suitable for Vegans?

All the ingredients in Trader Joe’s British Style Crumpets are suitable for vegans since all the ingredients are naturally vegan.

We recommend contacting the original manufacturer if you have any questions about how the crumpets are processed and if there is any contact with animal products or byproducts. 

How Do Trader Joe’s Crumpets Compare with Other Brands?

Trader Joe’s crumpets are very vegan-friendly compared to some kinds of crumpets carried by other American brands available at stores like Fresh Market or Walmart.

That’s because crumpets that aren’t made in the traditional way may have a batter that is dairy-based rather than water-based like British Style Crumpets. At the same time, stores like Walmart and Fresh Market usually carry a vegan-friendly crumpet brand.

Do Other Brands Carry Vegan Crumpets?

A few other big-name brands carry vegan crumpets. These include Sharrocks English Bakery Crumpets, available at Whole Foods locations and Lakeland Bake British Style Traditional Crumpets, and Duffy’s Crumpets typically in stock at Walmart stores. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Are Crumpets Vegan-Friendly?

Most brands of crumpets you can find in the store are vegan-friendly. That’s because a traditional crumpet is typically made without any dairy or egg products.

If you’re not sure, make sure to read the label first to ensure that a product is truly vegan-friendly.

Does Trader Joe’s Have Vegan Pastries?

Because Trader Joe’s is always upping their game with new vegan versions of classic foods, you are likely to find many vegan-friendly pastries.

Some of these include: Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, mochi, Lemon Crème and Chocolate Brownie ; Vanilla Crème sandwich cookies, jumbo cinnamon rolls, Thai banana fritters, always-vegan Partake Cookies, and plant-based ice cream such as Okie Dokie Oat Non-Dairy Ice Cream.

Final Thoughts

Trader Joe’s has a reputation as one of the best brick-and-mortar stores to buy a wide range of vegan foods and pastries, including crumpets.

While Trader Joe’s stock can vary based on location, availability, and whether items are discontinued, you can usually find a vegan crumpet option in a Trader Joe’s store.

If you’re not in luck at Trader Joe’s, check for vegan-friendly crumpets at local bakeries, or stores such as Walmart, Whole Foods, or Fresh Market, which often carry a variety of imported British pastries.  


Shane is a fitness enthusiast who also has a passion for trying and cooking new foods. His favorite stores to shop at include Trader Joe's, Wholefoods Market, Sprouts, Stater Brothers, and Target.

Recent Posts