"AisleWizard is supported by its readers. Please assume all links are affiliate links. If you purchase something from one of our links we make a small commission from Amazon."

Are Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Rolls Vegan? (Answered)

Are Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Rolls Vegan

Trader Joe’s has a delicious selection of pastries, rolls, and bread in their supermarkets. One of the most popular among its customers is their delicious cinnamon rolls. However, one common question surrounding this delightful roll is, are they vegan?

The packaging of Trader Joe’s cinnamon rolls does not explicitly mention whether or not they are vegan; however, they are considered safe for vegans as they do not contain any ingredients derived from animals. 

This article will discuss whether or not Trader Joe’s cinnamon rolls are safe for those following a strict vegan diet. So read on! We have everything you need to know about Trader Joe’s cinnamon rolls and their suitability for vegans.

Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Rolls

Trader Joe’s is one of the United States’ most popular supermarkets, and for a good reason. They have a never-ending stock of in-store brands which are made with high-quality ingredients without artificial colors, flavors, and MSG. 

The supermarket chain is also well adored as they produce items catered to specific diets, such as gluten-free, keto, vegetarian, and veganism, all of which have a wild selection of products available within their stores. 

One of the most desirable items from Trader Joe’s pastry or delicacy items is their cinnamon rolls. Cinnamon rolls are popular around the United States and are often seen as a dessert that can be enjoyed during the morning, noon or night. 

A cinnamon roll is a fairly basic dessert or sweet pastry seasoned with a good amount of cinnamon powder, topped with delicious vanilla icing, and comes in various sizes. They typically come in a roll that has a swirl shape. Hence they are often referred to as cinnamon swirls. 

The Cinnamon Rolls Offered At Trader Joe’s

Trader Joe’s, being the supermarket they are, has a popular store brand of cinnamon buns, which is one of their best-selling items.

They come in a jumbo five pack which is around 17 oz of cinnamon roll for the low price of $3.99 and even come with a pack of ready-made vanilla icing. 

On top of this, Trader Joe’s also offers a five-pack of organic jumbo cinnamon rolls for $4.99. These are similar to the conventional pack; however, everything from the wheat flour to the baking powder and cane sugar is 100% organic. 

These products are given the same promise as with all of its in-store branded items: they will always be made from quality ingredients without artificial preservatives or colors, nor will they include genetically modified ingredients. 

While Trader Joe’s never reveals who manufactures or produces their in-store brands, various customers have speculated that the delicious and jumbo-sized cinnamon buns are produced by either Immaculate Baking or Annie’s Brand.

Are Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Rolls Vegan?

Trader Joe’s is known for their wide selection of items that are available to those following a vegan diet. Vegans, unlike vegetarians, will not consume any product which was derived from animals, no matter how small. This means they won’t use powdered milk, nor even gelatin

One common question regarding Trader Joe’s jumbo cinnamon rolls is whether they are safe for vegans. While the packaging doesn’t have a vegan label, the cinnamon buns are considered safe for vegans as there is not a single ingredient derived from animals. 

This works for both the regular cinnamon buns and their organic counterparts, and even the vanilla icing is considered 100% safe for vegans. So, this tasty dessert has been a popular delicacy among Trader Joe’s many vegan customers. 

Tips For Finding Vegan Cinnamon Rolls At Trader Joe’s

Trader Joe’s, as we mentioned, offers two types of cinnamon rolls within their supermarkets, organic and non-organic. You can find both of these products in the refrigeration section of Trader Joe’s, and they will come in a can as opposed to plastic containers. 

If you cannot locate the canned cinnamon rolls within the store, you can also approach a Trader Joe’s staff member, and they will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. 

When verifying the vegan status of Trader Joe’s cinnamon rolls, you won’t see a label or sticker, as we’ve previously mentioned. 

However, you can check the various ingredients on the can or online, and you will see that these delicious treats are completely safe for vegans to enjoy. 

Alternative To Cinnamon Rolls At Trader Joe’s

If, for some reason, Trader Joe’s has run out of both the organic cinnamon buns and the regular kind; there are a few other pastries that are fairly similar and might do in the meantime. 

You could opt for Trader Joe’s vegan banana bread with walnuts, a delicious vegan dessert that flies off itself. This sweet and soft dessert is a family favorite, and now Trader Joe’s offers a vegan option in the store. 

If you want a dessert with a little more sweetness to it, then you may want to try their vegan sandwich cookies.

This product comes in two delicious flavors; chocolate brownie with vanilla crème and lemon crème, and they are both equally as tasty. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls Vegan?

No, the majority of cinnamon rolls at Cinnabon are not vegan-friendly. 

Are All Cinnamon Rolls Vegan?

No, the vast majority of Cinnamon rolls are made with butter and dairy milk. On top of this, most cinnamon rolls will contain cream cheese glazing.

Do Canned Cinnamon Rolls Contain Dairy?

If you shop for canned cinnamon rolls at Trader Joe’s, they will contain no dairy. However, if you purchase them elsewhere, be sure to check the label.

Final Thoughts

Trader Joe’s offers a wide selection of vegan goods, and if you’re a lover of cinnamon buns, then you’re in luck, as they are safe for a vegan diet. So next time you’re in Trader Joe’s and you want something sweet, head over to the refrigeration aisle and grab a can of delicious cinnamon buns. 

While it doesn’t mention this on the label, don’t worry, you can easily check the ingredients to find out for yourself that they contain absolutely no ingredients derived from animals. Alternatively, you can also check the ingredients list online. 


Shane is a fitness enthusiast who also has a passion for trying and cooking new foods. His favorite stores to shop at include Trader Joe's, Wholefoods Market, Sprouts, Stater Brothers, and Target.

Recent Posts