"AisleWizard is supported by its readers. Please assume all links are affiliate links. If you purchase something from one of our links we make a small commission from Amazon."

Are Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings Halal? (Explained)

Are Trader Joe's Chicken Soup Dumplings Halal

We all love Trader Joe’s for their amazing variety, out-of-the-box grocery selection, and of course, their delicious chicken soup dumplings! However, if you are adhering to the guidelines of a halal diet, you’ll need to have the answer to the question: Are Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings Halal?

Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings are not halal because they not only contain an unspecified form of gelatin which could contain pork byproduct, but because they are made with alcohol. Because of these ingredients, Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings are technically not halal.

In this article, we will thoroughly go over the facts about Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings, including covering what Halal food actually is, a breakdown of Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings’ ingredients, and answers to other frequently asked questions related to this topic. Let’s dive right in!

What is Halal Food?

The word “halal” means “permissible” in English when translated from it’s original language, which is Arabic.

It’s origins are also found in the Quaran, the sacred text of the Muslim religion, where it is used to refer to what is allowed under the law of Islam.

When it comes to food, things that are acceptable to eat according to the law of Islam are considered “halal,” while things that are unnaceptable are called “haram.”

Meat is allowed to be eaten in halal guidelines depending on how the animal the meat comes from was slaughtered.

For example, a healthy animal needed to be killed by cutting through the jugular, carotid artery, or windpipe so that all the blood was drained from the body while a Muslim dedication is recited. 

Not all meat is allowed under halal law. In fact, any animals with fangs are not allowed to be eaten, such as bears and dogs.

Birds of prey, like falcons or eagles, as well as any reptiles, monkeys, horses, donkeys, mules, or any kind of pork and pork byproduct are all forbidden.

Outside of meat, halal law is a little less strict, though it is important to note that alchohol is forbidden. 

All fruits and vegetables are considered halal.

Dairy or eggs or any cheese made by the slaughter of an animal that may not have been killed according to the previously-mentioned halal law are considered forbidden, too.

Actually, even if an animal is killed using halal methods, it can be considered haram if it was fed pork products or forbidden pharmaceuticals in life. 

Ingredients in Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings

Now that we understand what Halal food truly is, it is time to go into the ingredients of Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings.

This is because the ingredients themselves are the key components to understanding whether or not Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings are, actually, halal.

Let’s take a look at the list of ingredients below to find out for ourselves:

  • Water
  • Chicken
  • Onion
  • Green Onion
  • Ginger
  • Soy Sauce
  • Gelatin
  • Cooking Rice Wine 
  • Sugar
  • Sesame Oil
  • Salt
  • Soybean Oil
  • White Pepper
  • Yeast Extract
  • Enriched Wheat Flour
  • Modified Tapioca Starch

Though most of these ingredients seem entirely halal-adherant, there are two exceptions. The first is gelatin, which could be made from a pork byproduct, and the second is the Cooking Rice Wine.

 Because Alcohol is completely forbidden in the diet of a halal-following person, as well as the mystery of the gelatin’s origin, Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings should not be considered halal.

Trader Joe’s Policies on Halal Food

The Trader Joe’s company is committed to giving customers products that they are looking for in a wide variety, making many available to diets from all religions, organizations, and lifestyles. This does include a wide selection of halal foods, though the Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings may not be included in this.

Trader Joe’s is careful to partner not only with their own associates for the foods that they brand themselves, but with manufacturers that distribute and sell to them. They do this to make absolutely sure that cross-contamination does not occur.

In addition, Trader Joe’s makes sure to gain a halal certification for many of their meats so that customers can trust that they are getting real halal food.

The Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings, it should be noted, do not have this halal certification.

How to Determine if a Product is Halal

The easiest way to determine if a product is halal is to look for a halal certification badge or sticker on a product.

These are a badge proclaiming to everyone that an agency has checked the product and verified that it has nothing forbidden inside.

Another way to determine if a food is halal is to check the ingredients. For example, although Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings do not contain any pork outright, and instead seem to substitute chicken, a quick look at the list of ingredients reveals that there is a gelatin component which may be made with pork inside. Not only that, but wine is included.

Alternatives to Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings for Halal Diets

Unfortunately, Trader Joe’s does not offer any dumplings that are strictly considered or certified as halal. However, you can still go into a Trader Joe’s and satisfy a craving for meat or a hot meal related to Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings!

Trader Joe’s offers halal Tortellini if you’d like to make your own dumpling-esque pasta dish. It also offers Chicken Chili with Beans for those longing for chicken in particular, and a Cioppino Seafood Stew if you’d like something quick and hot.

Frequently Asked Questions

Check out these answers to FAQs!

Do Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings Have Pork?

No, technically Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings do not have pork; however, the ingredients do list gelatin, which can be made from pork, though it is unspecified.

What is in Trader Joe’s Dumplings?

Trader Joe’s dumplings usually contain a protein, like chicken, sausage, or pork. In addition to this, some ginger and diced onions are added for flavor, along with soy sauce and various seasonings.

A type of gelatin is added for flavoring and texture, but it is unclear which animal byproduct this gelatin is made from.

Final Thoughts

To sum it all up, Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings are delicious, and although they do not outwardly claim to use pork, they do contain an unspecified geltain component which may or may not have been made from pork. 

In addition to this, Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings are made with Wine, which is an alcoholic ingredient preventing it from being considered halal. For these reasons, Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings is not halal, but haram, especially if you’d rather be safe than sorry.

In conclusion, if you want to be sure you are adhering to halal rules, try Trader Joe’s Chicken Chili or make yourself some of their Tortellini and pass on the Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings.


Shane is a fitness enthusiast who also has a passion for trying and cooking new foods. His favorite stores to shop at include Trader Joe's, Wholefoods Market, Sprouts, Stater Brothers, and Target.

Recent Posts